Come back

What are time frames in Forex and what ones are better for trading

The concept of time frames was mentioned several times in the previous article "What is Forex". So let’s talk a little about the importance of this aspect. As you know, the key to trading in financial markets is the development of analytical skills. At the same time, we have to analyze the similar things again and again — the dynamics of the exchange rate. We’ve to do it long and monotonously. The objects of discovery are massive sets of numbers that are presented graphically. Such an analysis quickly gets a beginner bored and goes his brain to thoughts like “how huge is this data massive”, “it’s impossible to analyze”, “this can be done by a machine, but not by a human”. However, you can learn how to manage this data by structuring it correctly.

Time frame in Forex is the key to profits

To create a structure, you should enter some kind of filter or criterion that will compress the array of information and combine data into groups. For example, by the time factor. This is how you can simply explain what a time frame is. This is a filter that helps identify price trends.

Let's remember that the most effective way in Forex trading is a step-by-step analysis with a combination of several methods. The first two ones are fundamental and technical analysis. First, let's look at the fundamental things — a quoted currency that we are interested in and the situation in its homeland. We keep in mind the political, psychological, economic and force majeure factors in the state. For a general understanding of where the trend is going.

Time Frame in Technical Analysis

The next stage of the analysis is technical one. Look at charts with rate fluctuations. All attention is on the bands, and the trader’s task is to identify a trend here. The unspoken rule of trading tells us "trend is your friend".

Experienced traders will tell you the movement of the currency is periodic. And its trajectory somehow repeats itself.

Using the chart the trader should identify one of the three types of quote moving:

  • growth,
  • falling,
  • flat (moving within the same range).

Let's take a look at each of these ones.

Types of trends

1. Growth

Among traders, the impulse of a currency to rise is called an uptrend, also known as a bullish one. This name was born because of traders that are called "bulls" due to their desire to earn on market growth. Consequently, the “bulls” are looking for an uptrend for the most effective transactions.

2. Falling

By analogy, this trend was called a downtrend or bearish one. In honor of the bears, those traders who cleverly use the effect of falling prices.

3. Flat

This is a situation when the price changes with a small amplitude and, in general, stays in the same range. For example, we have a starting point where the quote is 1.00050. And the end point is 1.00052. For an hour, the rate was changing — both in a positive direction and in a negative one. As a result we have the delta that is only 0.00002.

Time frame in forex helps us to see a trend

During analyzing trends, it’s important to remember that any of the three trends (Up, Down, or Flat) doesn’t carry any valuable information without a clear time frame. Since the trend can be short-term, medium-term or long-term. You can often observe a comical situation — in the short term, prices grow on average, if you plan a little further, they stay without moving, and in the long term, we see a falling. And then a logical question arises — so which of the three conclusions should we rely on?

This is the moment to use the time frame. Consider that it can be different depending on time unit and step length.

For example, the period M1 shows the dynamics of price fluctuations for every minute. And the interval M30 gives us an understanding of how quotes changed every half an hour. The chart with step H4 demonstrates the dynamics after 4 hours. And D3 displays the change in the situation in the context of 3 days. For a complete picture, don’t forget there are also weekly charts, like W2 and finally ones with a step in months MN. Why MN? Quite simply, because the designation M is already taken by minutes.

When we have considered the time frame, it’s time to start analyzing the chart. Let's figure out how exchange rates are displayed graphically.

Types of charts

You can use a timeframe in Forex with one of three types of charts:

  • Line chart.
  • Bars.
  • Japanese candles.

Line chart

This is the easiest way to show price fluctuations. Let's take an example.

Let's say you woke up at 9:30 and you need to analyze how the Euro-Dollar pair behaved during the previous hours, when the European market was still sleeping, and the Asian one was trading.

We are interested in the dynamics from 6 am to the current moment. For an initial assessment of the situation, it is enough to take this period and apply the H1 timeframe that shows changes for each hour.

We build a coordinate system with a horizontal X-axis and a vertical Y-axis.

We get a table of parameters:

Parameter Point 1 Point 2 Point 3 Point 4
X-axis (Time) 06:00 07:00 08:00 09:00
Y-axis (EUR/USD quote) 1,05600 1,05675 1,06200 1,05990

 

timeframe line chart

But you should consider one thing — the price of 1.056 at 6 hours, in fact, means the value at 06:59:59, that is, at the closing moment of the 6-hour period.

Disadvantages of the line chart

On the chart, we see quite limited information. Yes, you can see how the price has changed in 1 hour, but no more. The analyst has no understanding of what maximum the price rose within an hour, and also what was its minimum. We could offer a smart idea — what if we take more points for analysis. This can be done. For instance, let’s use a one minute step. What will it give us? We get, neither more nor less, — 240 points (60 minutes for 4 hours) on one chart. Even a large monitor will hardly allow you to analyze it, and on a laptop monitor it will not be an informative chart at all. Therefore, the line chart is a thing of the past. It was replaced by bars.

What is a timeframe on a bar chart

A bar is a cool graphical tool that shows the trend not only at the beginning and end of the period, but gives an understanding of what was happening during this interval.

timeframe on a bar chart

Bullish bar for the period from 18:00 to 19:00

In Figure 1, we see a bullish bar with the time frame H1. Four parameters are shown here:

  • Open — period opening price, i.e. at 18:00 the quote was 1.049.
  • Close — indicator at the end of the period, i.e. at 19:00 the quote became 1.051.
  • High — the maximum achieved value for an hour — 1,056.
  • Low — the minimum achieved value for an hour — 1,048.

Schematically, for an hour, prices behaved as shown in Figure 2.

timeframe bar

Price behavior from 18:00 to 19:00

That is, the hour opened at 1.049, at some point a high of 1.056 was reached, then a low of 1.048, and the hour closed at 1.051.

Bars are also imperfect

We’ve used a bar chart and applied a timeframe, what has it given us? Bars are really more informative than lines and points. But the problem of readability is not gone and even worsened. With a large number of bars, their Open-Close tendrils merge into one array and turn the chart into a mess of lines. The solution to the problem came from Japan and it’s called the Japanese candlestick.

Japanese candlesticks

The so-called candle is a figure, as shown on the image.

elements of japanese candles

Elements of Japanese candlesticks

A candlestick carries the same information as a bar, but is more readable due to good visualization. The main principle is that a "bullish" candlestick is reflected by an unfilled rectangle, and a "bearish" by filled one. This rectangle is the body of the candlestick. The lower and higher faces of the figure are the opening and closing prices of the period. The “threads” extending up and down are the tails (or shadows) of the candlestick. They, at their extreme points, show the MAX and MIN quotes for the period.

Filled and unfilled candlesticks look comfortable and allow you to read charts even with a thousand values. So this tool is most often used in the 2020s to analyze the prices of currencies. Let's look at an example of a candlestick chart.

candlestick chart example

An example of a candlestick chart

Figure shows the dynamics of changes in quotes per day. Question for beginner traders forex- what is a time frame specifically on this graph? The answer is step H3 is applied here. Therefore, we see the price changing every 3 hours during the day.

Let’s determine the trend, resistance and support levels

Analyzing the chart (lines, bars, candlesticks) within the timeframe helps to identify the trend in price changes. When we see that prices are rising, it is likely that the trend will continue to rise for some time. That is, it will continue rather than stop. At this moment, it is necessary to force the opening of transactions to buy. Accordingly, when a trend of falling quotes is revealed, we open ones to sell.

But there is a question that remains — how to identify that specific moment when we should open transactions. What if this trend is just now coming to an end, and then there will be a jump in the opposite direction.

trading on multiple timeframes

Resistance and support levels

There is one thing that can help us to figure it out. These are the resistance and support levels shown in Figure. What is it? Let's draw an analogy. Imagine you are throwing a basketball in the gym. If you throw hard on the floor, the ball will bounce up. The floor will "support" the ball. If you throw it up, the ball will rush down, the roof will “resist”. There is the same effect with the exchange rate.

Using the candlestick chart and time frames, try to identify the resistance line, i.e. a level which prices bounce down from, for a long time. In this zone, the trader opens transactions to sell. And when we identify the line which prices jump up from, we will find the support level. It’s time to open buy transactions.

What time frames are best for trading

So now, when we’ve figured out the essence of the term "time frame" and the types of charts, let's touch on practice.

There are 9 types of timeframes available to a beginner on demo and real accounts of trading terminals: 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes, half an hour, 1 hour, 4 hours, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month.

It’s important to decide on the key ones of these nine for your trading. This choice affects approaches to transactions, their intensity and setting pending orders.

When we choose a time frame, we should consider such factors as:

  • Capital size.

A small deposit doesn't allow you to actively use the older timeframes from H4 to MN. You will have to set an unreasonably large Stop Loss order size. Which leads to great risks, and the basic principles of money management are not followed.

  • Time devoted to trading.

A beginner should understand that lower timeframes (hourly, half-hourly, minute) will force him to buy glasses, since he will have to stay at the monitor for a long time during the day. Although the volatility of the currency on lower time frames is better visible, this is not a guarantee of high earnings. High psychological and visual stress can negatively affect trading decisions.

Therefore, the best time frame strategy is to highlight the working one and combine it with several others, both older and younger.

Trading on several time frames

For an absolute beginner, it is recommended to start from periods H1-H4. They will allow him to avoid emotional overload and get a good analysis. At the same time, do not forget to rise to a higher timeframe sometimes in order to understand what the whole trend is today — bullish, bearish, sideways. And also to identify the stage of the trend, where its correction is predicted. Sometimes you should go down to lower periods. The points of opening deals are better visible there.

Conclusions

Time frames are one of the key points of forex trading. A beginner should study their types, how a bar and a Japanese candlestick look like. Then he should move on to practice — open a demo account on the trading terminal and practice identifying trends by setting different time frames, finding resistance and support levels. Over time, the trader will start reaping the rewards and getting successful in Forex transactions.

Subscribe to news

Categories

    Contacts

    Leave your details and we will contact you shortly

Вернуться назад

Таймфрейм в Форекс — что это и на каких таймфреймах лучше торговать

В статье «Форекс простыми словами» было упомянуто понятие «таймфреймы» (дословный перевод с английского — «временной период»). Немного о важности этого аспекта. Как известно, ключевое в торговле на финансовых рынках — это развитие аналитического навыка. При этом, анализировать приходится одно и то же — динамику курса валют.  Долго и монотонно. Массивы и килотонны данных, представленных графически. Подобный анализ быстро надоедает и порождает у начинающего трейдера мысли наподобие «как же много данных», «это нереально отследить», «такое под силу машине, но не человеку». Однако, этими данными можно научится управлять, грамотно их структурируя.

Что такое таймфрейм в Форекс — это ключ к профиту

Для создания структуры нужно ввести какой-то фильтр или критерий, что будет сжимать массив информации и объединять данные в группы. Например, по фактору времени. Именно так можно объяснить простыми словами, что такое таймфрейм в трейдинге. Это фильтр по времени, помогающий выявить тренды изменения цен.

Вспомним, что самый эффективный путь в трейдинге Форекс — это пошаговый анализ с комбинацией нескольких методов. Первые два — фундаментальный и технический анализ. Сперва смотрим на фундаментальные вещи — рынок котируемой валюты, что интересна нам. Держим в уме политические, психологические, экономические и форс-мажорные факторы на родине этой валюты. Для общего понимания, куда идет тенденция.

Таймфрейм в техническом анализе

Следующий этап анализа — технический. Просмотр графиков с колебанием курса. Все внимание устремляется на скачкообразные полосы, и задача трейдера — выявить там тренд. Негласное правило торговли учит нас «trend is your friend».

А опытные «киты» рынка Форекс скажут вам, что движение валюты периодично. И его траектория так или иначе повторяется.

Учитывая вышесказанное и внимательно всматриваясь в график, трейдер должен выявить одну из 3-х закономерностей:

  • котировка валют со временем растет;
  • падает;
  • либо движется в рамках одного диапазона.

Рассмотрим каждый из трендов.

Типы трендов

1.  Рост

Среди трейдеров «рвение» валюты расти называют восходящим трендом, также известным как «up-тренд» или «бычий». В честь трейдеров, именуемых «быками» за счет стремления заработать на росте рынка. Следовательно, «быки» выискивают именно восходящий тренд для максимально эффективных сделок.

2.  Падение

По аналогии это явление прозвали нисходящий тренд, «down-тренд» либо «медвежий». В честь торговцев — антагонистов «быков» — тех самых «медведей», ловко использующих эффект от падения цен.

3.  Движение в одной плоскости

Такой тренд окрестили Flat. Это ситуация, когда цена изменяется с малой амплитудой и, в целом, находится «плюс-минус» в одном диапазоне. Например, есть стартовая точка, где котировка равна 1,00050. И конечная точка 1,00052. За час курс менялся — как в положительную сторону, так и в минус. При этом, дельта составляет всего 0,00002.

Таймфрейм в Форекс поможет увидеть тренд

Анализируя тренд, важно понимать, что любая из 3-х тенденций (Up, Down или Flat) не несет никакой ценной информации без четких временных рамок. Поскольку тренд может быть кратко-, средне- либо долгосрочным. Часто можно наблюдать комичную ситуацию — в ближайшей перспективе цены в среднем растут, если планировать чуть дальше — «стоят на месте», а в долгосрочной перспективе трейдер видит тенденцию к падению. И тогда возникает логичный вопрос — так на какой из трёх выводов опираться?

Именно здесь в игру вступает таймфрейм. Это временной период, показывающий, в рамках какого горизонта планирования мы смотрим на цены. Таймфреймы бывают разные в зависимости от единицы времени и длины шага.

Например, период M1 показывает динамику колебания цен за каждую минуту. А интервал M30 даст понимание, как менялись котировки каждые полчаса. График с шагом H4 покажет динамику через 4 часа. Ну а, например, D3 отображает изменение ситуации в разрезе 3-х дней. Для полной картины не забываем, что есть также недельные графики, допустим W2 и, наконец, — с шагом в месяцы MN. Почему MN? Все просто, обозначение M уже занято минутами.

Очертив временные рамки, анализируем график. Разберемся, как отображаются курсы валют графически.

Виды графиков

Использовать таймфрейм на Форекс можно с одним из 3 типов графиков:

  • Линейный график.
  • Бары.
  • Японские свечи.

Линейный график

Это самый простой способ, чтобы отразить колебания цены. Разберем на примере.

Допустим, вы проснулись в 9:30 и нужно проанализировать, как же вела себя пара Евро-Доллар за предыдущие часы, когда европейский рынок еще спал, а торговал Азиатский.

Нам интересна динамика с 6 утра и по сей момент. Для верхнеуровневой оценки ситуации достаточно взять этот период и применить таймфрейм H1, то есть — изменения за каждый час.

Строим систему координат с горизонтальной осью X и вертикальной Y.

Получаем таблицу параметров:

Параметр Точка 1 Точка 2 Точка 3 Точка 4
Ось Х (Время) 06:00 07:00 08:00 09:00
Ось Y (Котировка EUR/USD) 1,05600 1,05675 1,06200 1,05990

 

линейный график таймфрейм

Небольшое уточнение — цена 1,056 в 6 часов по сути означает значение в 06:59:59, то есть в момент закрытия периода 6-ти часов.

Недостатки линейного графика

На графике мы видим информацию достаточно ограниченную. Да, видно, как цена изменилась за 1 час, но не более. У аналитика нет понимания, до какого максимума цена в течение часа поднималась, а также каков был её минимум. Возникает, казалось бы, идея — а если участить период. Взять не час, в меньший интервал. Сделать это можно, есть одно «но» — торговля идет непрерывно, и для понимания максимумов и минимумов придется применить минутный таймфрейм. Что это даст? Получим, ни много, ни мало, — 360 точек (по 60 минут за 4 часа) на одном графике. Даже большая плазма с трудом позволит оценить его вид, а на мониторе ноутбука это вовсе будет «каша» из точек. Поэтому линейный график отошел в прошлое. Ему на смену пришли бары.

Что такое таймфрейм на баровом графике

Бар — это крутой графический инструмент, что показывает тенденцию не только на начало и конец периода, а дает понимание, что происходило в течение этого интервала.

таймфрейм на баровом графике

«Бычий» бар за период с 18:00 до 19:00

На рисунке мы видим «бычий» бар с тайфреймом Н1. Здесь показано 4 параметра:

  • Open — цена открытия периода, т.е. в 18:00 котировка была 1,049.
  • Close — показатель на момент завершения периода, т.е. в 19:00 котировка стала 1,051.
  • High — максимально достигаемое значение в течение часа — 1,056.
  • Low — достигаемый за час минимум — 1,048.

Схематически за час цены вели себя, как показано на рисунке.

бар с тайфреймом

Поведение цен в период с 18:00 до 19:00

То есть, час открылся при цене 1,049, в какой-то момент был достигнут высший показатель 1.056, затем — низший 1,048, и закрылся час по цене 1,051.

Бары также несовершенны

Мы использовали баровый график и применили таймфрейм, что это дает? Бары действительно более информативны, чем точки. Но проблема отсутствия читабельности никуда не ушла, и даже усугубилась. При большом количестве баров, их «усики» Open-Close сливаются в один массив и превращают график в месиво из линий. Решение проблемы пришло из страны восходящего солнца. Имя этому решению — японская свеча.

Японские свечи

Так называемая свеча представляет собой фигуру, как изображено на рисунке.

элементы японских свеч

Элементы японских свеч

Свечка несет ту же информацию, что и бар, однако более наглядна за счет визуализации. Главный принцип в том, что «бычья» свеча отражается незакрашенным прямоугольником, а «медвежья» — зарисованным. Этот прямоугольник — тело свечи. Нижняя и верхняя грани фигуры — это цена открытия и закрытия периода. Отходящие вверх и вниз «нитки» — это хвосты (или тени) свечи. Они, в своих крайних точках, показывают MAX и MIN котировки за период.

Залитые и не залитые свечи смотрятся удобно и позволяют считывать графики даже с тысячью значений. Именно свечи чаще всего используют в 2020-х годах для анализа цен валют. Приведем наглядный пример свечного графика.

пример свечного графика

Пример свечного графика

На рисунке изображена динамика изменения котировок за сутки. Вопрос к начинающим трейдерам Форекс — что такое таймфрейм конкретно на этом графике? Ответ — здесь применен шаг H3. Следовательно, показано изменение цен каждые 3 часа в течение суток.

Определяем тренд, уровни сопротивления и поддержки

Анализ графика (линейного, барного, свечного) в рамках таймфрейма помогает выявить тенденцию изменения цены. Когда мы видим, что цены растут, скорее всего, еще какое-то время тренд продолжит расти. То есть он скорее продолжится, чем остановится. В этот момент необходимо форсировать открытие сделок на покупку. Соответственно, при выявлении тренда падения котировок, открываем цены на продажу.

Но остается вопрос — а в какой конкретно момент открывать сделки. Вдруг этот тренд как раз сейчас подходит к концу, и далее произойдет скачок в обратную сторону.

торговля на нескольких таймфремах

Уровни сопротивления и поддержки

Тут на помощь приходят уровни сопротивления и поддержки, изображенные на рисунке. Что это и зачем? Проведем аналогию. Вы в спортивном зале бросаете баскетбольный мяч. Если бросите сильно об пол, мяч отскочит вверх. Паркет «поддержит» мяч. Если же бросите в потолок — «круглый» устремится вниз, крыша окажет «сопротивление». Такой же эффект с курсом валют.

С помощью свечного графика и таймфремов постарайтесь выявить линию сопротивления, т.е. такой уровень, от которого цены долгое время отскакивают вниз. В этой зоне трейдер открывает сделки на продажу. А когда выявим линию, от которой цены скачут вверх, найдем уровень поддержки. Тут целесообразны сделки на покупку валюты.

На каких таймфреймах лучше торговать

Когда уяснили суть понятия «таймфрейм» и виды графиков, коснемся практики.

Так вот, на демо- и реальных счетах торговых терминалов трейдеру-новичку доступны 9 видов таймфреймов: 1 минута, 5 минут, 15 минут, полчаса, 1 час, 4 часа, 1 день, 1 неделя, 1 месяц.

В торговле важно определиться с ключевым из этих 9-ти. Этот выбор влияет на подходы к сделкам, их интенсивности, выставление отложенных ордеров.

Выбирая таймфрейм, следует учитывать такие факторы, как:

  • Размер капитала.

Небольшой депозит не позволит активно использовать таймфреймы «постарше» — H4…MN. Придется выставлять неоправданно большой размер ордера Stop Loss. Что ведет к большим рискам, а базовые принципы money-менеджмента не соблюдаются.

  • Время, уделяемое торговле.

Новичок должен понимать, что младшие таймфреймы (часовые, получасовые, минутные) вынудят купить очки, поскольку у монитора придется находиться долго в течение дня. Хоть волатильность валюты на младших таймфреймах видна лучше, это не гарантия высокого заработка. Высокая психологическая и зрительная нагрузка может негативно повлиять на торговые решения.

Поэтому лучшая стратегия касательно таймфрейма — это выбор одного «рабочего» и комбинация его с несколькими другими, как постарше, так и помладше.

Торговля на нескольких таймфремах

В качестве рабочих для новичка рекомендуется остановиться на периодах Н1-Н4. Это та золотая середина, позволяющая избежать эмоциональной перегрузки и получить хороший анализ. При этом не забываем иногда подниматься на старший таймфрейм, дабы понять какой сегодня тренд — бычий, медвежий, боковой. А также для выявления стадии тренда, где прогнозируется его коррекция. Также иногда опускаемся на младшие периоды. Там лучше видны точки открытия сделок.

Выводы

Таймфреймы — один из ключевых моментов трейдинга на форекс. Новичку следует изучить их виды, как выглядит бар и японская свеча. Затем перейти к практике — открыть демо-счет на торговом терминале и поупражняться в выявлении трендов, выставляя различные таймфреймы, находя уровни сопротивления и поддержки. Со временем трейдер пожнет плоды, рано или поздно сработает закон немецкого философа Гегеля «Переход количественных изменений в качественные». Где количество — это упорная практика на демо-счетах, а качество — первые заработки в торговле на счетах реальных.

Подпишись на новости

Категории

    Контакты

    Оставьте свои данные и мы свяжемся с Вами в ближайшее время